House In My Head

When I was six I built a house inside my head

A quaint yellow bungalow with blue flower boxes

 

As I got older and older,

I added more rooms for every occasion

 

A room lined floor to ceiling with books

So that I could expand my mind

 

A room with ingredients from all over the world

To craft delicious recipes

 

Then a room to keep my computers

To work and study as much as I could

 

Then a room for friends

To entertain as many as I could

 

A room for exercise

To stay in as best shape as I could

 

Then a room with beds

To take my lover to enjoy

 

Then a room for dreams

To fill with my hopes for the future

 

Each room, built on top of eachother,

Layered like the leaning Tower of Pisa

 

Until the house became a hazard

We could fit no more rooms

 

I could not fit any more dreams, people, careers

Into any of the rooms

 

The house became like that of a hoarder,

Filled to the brim

 

Hallways stacked and squished

with piles that loomed over my head

 

What would be the straw

to break the camel’s back

 

Each object, option, choice unfulfilled

Had taken too much space from me

 

I became paralyzed,

I could not move in this house I had build for myself

 

Finally, I gathered strength

I tried to take a step forward

 
The house collapsed.

3 thoughts on “House In My Head

Leave a Reply

