#60

“you can do anything you set your mind to”

they told me when I was at the tender age of 5.

At ten years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean winning first place at the swim meet.

At 12 years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean getting into the honors program.

At 14 years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean being able to do Algebra.

At 15 years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean making it onto the soccer team.

At 16 years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean being able to afford a driver’s license.

At 17 years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean making a 4.0 GPA.

At 18 years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean getting accepted into my dream schools.

At 19 years old I found out that “anything”

did not mean being able to afford to go to college.

 

Why do we put children on the highest peak of a mountain,

only to watch the wind blow them farther and farther

down the mountainside.

Leave a Reply

